Might I but moor – Tonight – With Thee

Fast and flimsy sex and still not

able to sleep, but she has fallen

under the covers to the other world.

I walk in the cold, dark hallway

where every step I take echoes twice.

legs

I was reading about Thomas Wentworth Higginson, who prepared the first edition of Emily Dickinson’s poems in 1890. He wrote to his co-editor: “One poem only I dread a little to print – that wonder ‘Wild Nights,’ – lest the malignant read into it more than that virgin recluse ever dreamed of putting there. . . . Yet what a loss to omit it! Indeed it is not to be omitted.”

That comment made me look at the poem again and think Emily – that virgin recluse – fantasizing in her room one night when she couldn’t sleep.

Wild Nights – Wild Nights!
Were I with thee
Wild Nights should be
Our luxury!

Futile – the Winds –
To a Heart in port –
Done with the Compass –
Done with the Chart!

Rowing in Eden –
Ah, the Sea!
Might I but moor –
Tonight – With Thee!

2 thoughts on “Might I but moor – Tonight – With Thee

  1. Pingback: Writing the End of the Year | Writing the Day

Leave a comment

